Brick Award 2020

Brick Award 2020

For more than one decade now, Wienerberger AG has been hosting the international “Wienerberger Brick Award” every two years, providing a stage for excellent brick architecture and its architects. Wienerberger initiated the Brick Award for the first time in 2004 in order to put this natural building material into the spotlight, demonstrating how exciting, exceptional and modern architecture using brick can be.

How to participate in the award - Submissions

The submission period for the Brick Award 2020 has already started. Architects, international architecture critics, and journalists can submit projects between January 7th and April 9th 2019. The 50 nominated projects will be revealed on this website as well as Facebook, Pinterest and Twitter from November 2019 onwards. The winners will be communicated at the Brick Award ceremony at the end of May 2020.

An important criterion for the submission is that a significant part of the project must consist of clay building materials and it must be a current project, which has been completed in 2016 or later.

Click here to submit your project!

The jury and winners

The award comprises of different categories that are subject to slight change depending on the year and the development of trends and current topics.

For the Brick Award 2020 the following categories will be awarded: Feeling at Home, Living Together, Working Together, Sharing Public Spaces and Building Outside the Box.

Between January and April 2017, 576 projects worldwide were submitted for the Wienerberger Brick Award 2018. An independent pre-jury panel consisting of architecture critics and journalists had the challenging task to narrow down this number to a total of 50 projects split into the five categories that were then nominated for the award.


Entries are open from January 7th 2019 until April 9th 2019.
For further information please check the website of the Wienerberger AG.